Frank, Stop Staring Please

Written on the back of a paper plate.

Frank, Stop Staring Please

After drinks, Frank O’Hara starts to look kind of creepy–
staring from the cover of a book of collected poetry, in
black-and-white and green-and-black frowning.

Especially when seated on the shelf next to the toilet
Frank, looking, why?
You want more privacy when you are drunk.

Stop staring!
I stayed in Boston! I will write on the backs of paper plates!
I will write at a cold iron coffee table at Cardullo’s
in Harvard Square, I will make them famous
I will start the Boston School

And all my friends will go to the school.

Let’s high-five, let’s move to New York. Let’s move to Brooklyn.
Let’s not, let’s stay, screw Brooklyn, pastrami sandwich.
Just do not stare, master poet.
Down feather.

Let me sit in decided peace.

One response to “Frank, Stop Staring Please

  1. Nice! I just took my first poetry class this semester, I had never read much before. I liked O’Hara.

Leave a Reply

